Howard

Father,

I know we didn’t part on the best of terms. You told me that I would be wasting my talents in United Defense Corp, that I should go work for you, or at least for a more promising company – Magadon Inc, or Weyland Yutani, maybe – and I… but you know all this, and it doesn’t bear repeating. Words were said. Unfortunate words.

It appears now that my choice was an unfortunate one. United Defense Corp is more dangerous than I could have dreamed. Worse, an accidental misfire of a prototype laser rifle I was building for the Army brought them to my door. Mistakes were made, many of them mine, and things quickly spun out of control. As much as it pains me to admit, I need your help, father. I am going to have to ‘lay low,’ as it were, for a while, and I may not be able to write to you again for a little while, but if you send a letter to the usual location, I should receive it eventually. Lacking that, there is always email, though I know you were never fond of electronic messages.

You were right.

There, I’ve said it. You were right all along. God, even the position I was offered in the Special Projects Division at Pentex Inc. could not have been worse than this. Please, father, is there anything you can do to help? My situation has never been more dire than it is now.

Give my love to mother, but I ask that you not tell her the trouble I am in. She wouldn’t understand.

Your son,
Howard

One thought on “Howard

  1. here was an odd thing. this relationship didn’t play out very far for a lot of reasons, one of which was that i wasn’t exactly clear on what weight it should have. it wasn’t represented by any Backgrounds that i’m aware of, and Howard had the Technocracy as a 2pt Enemy, so there wasn’t much his father could do besides recommend that Howard rejoin the Technocracy to save his life.at that point, it sort of fell by the wayside. oh well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

