Alonius Criamon

After some time, consciousness resolves. There is a distant echo of pain, but it is quickly forgotten. You find yourself in a larger room than before, but a familiar one nontheless. There is the clean sense of being present mentally in a ‘place’. Your room has changed, more representative of its parallel in the Sanctum. There is still the shimmering membrane that corresponds to the missing outer wall and the door leading to the center of the shared astral place.

The difference is that, when you open the door, you find someone new in the center of the space, sitting, leaning against a featureless and huge standing stone where the pedestal used to be.

He is an ageless man who nonetheless gives the impression of having been around for a very, very long time. His face is marked by wisdom and suffering but not by age; his hair is bright and grey, as are his eyes.

From sketches in books you’ve looked over, its easy to recognize him as Alonius Criamon.

“Ah, I see. Something must have happened.” He stands, slowly but smoothly. He’s wearing only a simple grey robe. “Well, let’s hear it.”

22 thoughts on “Alonius Criamon

  1. Alistair looks around to see if everyone is here and if they appear to be alright. He wasn’t at all sure that we’d all survived the… whatever that was. He looks back at Alonius.“Right, well, um. Nice to meet you an’ all. We’ve just been savaged by something that should not exist… And maybe it doesn’t. Then captured by Technocrats. Do you mind my asking how the hell you got here? I’m pretty sure that you were erased from existence in Doisstep back in 1997. I found the place where you were not.”“No. More importantly, are we still alive? I’ve never had a person dissolve in my hands like that before. It was wrong. Is there going to be anything left of Sway and Sylvia when I wake up?”

    Like

  2. Howard stares at the man for a long moment, not quite believing what he’s seeing. “You, you’re him, aren’t you? But that’s impos…” he stops. “Extremely unlikely,” he finishes lamely. A flash of suspicion crosses his face. “How do I know you’re really him, and not some psychic Technocrat poking around in my brain, trying to interrogate me in an admittedly unconventional way?”

    Like

  3. Alonius’ head cocks to the side slightly and his eyes go distant for a few moments once everyone has come out of their various rooms in the shared space. Finally, he says “Ah. I see.”Everyone seems to be in perfect health in this space, though some may appear haggard or upset if that is how they feel (understandably so).to Alistair: “I have to assume you are still alive – if you were not, I doubt you would be persisting here unless you had prepared yourself specifically. This is obviously some sort of Astral space that you share – and I’ve had…some amount of time to think about it. I would guess that you mind has…retreated here. Or, if it has been shunted out of your body, this could be the next place it goes. As for the condition of your body – that I can’t tell you I’m afraid.”then, to Howard, after he speaks: “I am Criamon in some sense, but I don’t seem to be completely him, as it were. I’ve given it a lot of thought, and I doubt I know all he knew. Also” he looks to the sixth door that is Scott’s “there seems to be someone missing.”“However – I do seem to know what you know. When you entered, I…absorbed a great deal suddenly. And I’ve been piecing through the rest while I waited. I have been receiving information and experience piecemeal at what seem like regular increments – a few dozen times since I awoke here.”“In response to your last question – I don’t know how I can prove I’m not a Technocrat. I…the discipline of the mind is quite subtle. I could be a Technocratic procedure, and it would be possible for me not to know it.”

    Like

  4. Howard, ever the trusting one, nods. “Fair enough. I guess… I guess a technocratic program probably wouldn’t tell me that.” He glances at Alistair, then looks back to Alonius. “They better not break my Possibility Engine,” he mutters. Then, louder, he says, “I think it was probably some kind of anti-time. The Rogue Council was attacking Soto’s chronometric projection, and… I think it was trying to erase us from the timeline. If it had killed us…” He shudders. “But we survived. That’s the important thing. I think. You know, I had better not wake up naked in a tube this time. I’m getting really tired of waking up in tubes.” He’s babbling, of course, but then, he has been through a lot, and his reserve of will that would ordinarily let him stop short of such things is decidedly low at the moment.

    Like

  5. Alonius glances at Sylvia. “Hmm. I’d say it was more likely a use of…you might say absolute entropy. Mastery of time allows you to shunt someone into an alternate line, perhaps, or maybe even the future or the past. But I don’t think it can…annihilate so directly.”“It seems that each of you have some sort of world connected to your portion of the shared space. A lot of my time here has been spent exploring them. I’ve noted that there is no sixth world, however. Do you know what that means? Whose room is, or was, that sixth one?” He gestures toward Scott’s room.

    Like

  6. “That was Scott’s room. He never came here with us. He was frustrated with our methods and decided to take a different path. That was before we discovered this space. I’m surprised that there isn’t a world for him though. I would think that is a bad sign.”“So Alonius, are you just a projection, like the image of Soto? And if so, why have you been sent?”

    Like

  7. Alonius thinks for a moment. “No, I think I am possibly…residue. I am quite sure that I am in fact dead. Possibly eradicated, in fact, given the condition of Doisstep. Presumably, if I was alive since that attack, I would have had some impact.”“But it does seem that I intrinsic to this place. Before the stone grew at the center of it, there was an odd pedastal with my name on it. That’s where I…awoke.”

    Like

  8. Howard taps his fingers together nervously “So… Alonius Criamon, huh? … I don’t suppose you might answer, uh…” He looks at the others. “Why’d you Cause us? Not that I’m not grateful or anything, but… well, why?”

    Like

  9. “You know, I’ve had some time to reflect on why and how I am intrinsic to this place, and, therefore, somehow to the…five of you. What makes most sense would “be that I was seeking Ascension. What else is there for an archmagus to endeavor to do? Perhaps…causing you was in some way related to a seeking. Or perhaps you are a by-product of something gone terribly wrong. No offense intended.”“Perhaps causing multiple Awakenings would have been sufficient for Ascension. It is something profoundly and famously difficult to affect an Awakening at all, as thousands of Hermetic apprentices and hedge magi can attest. If so, it would be a shame, if I was able to accomplish this but could never enjoy the benefit. There’s also the question: why you? It makes more sense for me to Awaken five or six Hermetics, honestly; but none of you are Hermetics. In most cases, quite the contrary.”

    Like

  10. Alistair laughs, “Of course, since no one really knows what ascension is or what happens after you ascend it’s possible that Alonius succeeded and we have no way of knowing how or why.”Alistair’s laughter becomes a frown, “But you’re asking more questions than you’re answering. Why are you here? It seems like Alonius when he was alive was very powerful. He must have prepared this place and you for some purpose. Do you know what that is?”He thinks a bit more, “Or if not, then if we tell you exactly what happened back there in Derrick’s lab will you help us figure out how to fix this mess?”Alistair will describe in detail the events including the Rogue Council, the “End of the World”, the four universes, Soto’s duel, the rote in Derrick’s lab, the monstrosity from beyond, and the technocratic intervention.

    Like

  11. Criamon gestures as you begin explaining. “As I said, somehow I already seem to know all that you know. Or at least, that’s my guess. The last bit came to me all at once when you arrived. I am, essentially, up to date on recent events.”“Perhaps…I was preparing this place, but was interrupted. Or it could be an interpretation – an unintended result. Clearly, you are all connected. From what I’ve learned from the five worlds connected to this place, each seems to reflect things about you in some way. It seems that, as you change, these worlds also change. They are, however, simplistic. That is, not very large, and not as complex as a real living system.”“On to what happened – clearly the intent was to destroy you while simultaneously eliminating your ability to fight back. Whoever caused the…singularity, collapse, is the most likely culprit. It may have been a programmed event or it may have been active. Its interesting that it lacked a Resonance signature. Its also interesting that it appears to have failed. That is, you are likely alive. It probably traveled along the time-connection you had forged. I think it will be possible to repair the damage that was done. Almost anything can be repaired, given enough power.”

    Like

  12. As Criamon speaks, he looks at each of you in turn, particularly when he’s speaking about something you know something about – looking at Sylvia when speaking of time or mind, for example, or at Sway and Alistair when speaking of repairing the damage done, etc.

    Like

  13. “Enough power. Well that would be the key wouldn’t it. How much? Last I remember none of us was getting so much as a spark of the divine light flowing..“And another thing, you said that the thing failed – but why? None of us was puttin’ up a fight. It just stopped after it’s initial assault and disappeared. Why didn’t it finish the job?”

    Like

  14. “My guess? The time-connection collapsed. Looking through time is relatively easy, though what you see is certainly complicated. But acting through time would have to be incredibly difficult. Otherwise, why not go back and kill your parents, or mine, if one wanted to destroy us? There must be a reason this doesn’t happen. Perhaps there was only time for one dramatic combined effect.”

    Like

  15. Howard thinks carefully for a moment, and then asks, “But how do you rekindle the Fire when it’s gone out?” He looks at each of the doorways. “Or is it still in there somewhere? Can we go in and find it, and bring it back out?”

    Like

  16. “Right. Then, if the Fire hasn’t gone out, how do we fix what’s wrong with us? Are there answers in here? Or are we just… stuck here, twiddling our thumbs while the Technocrats in the real world decide whether they want to dissect us or not?”

    Like

  17. Alonius shrugs slightly. “I’ve never been here with you before. What do you normally do here? Have you learned things from your respective sub-worlds? Perhaps you can escape here if that is your wish – you may still be Astrally projected, which will mean you’ll have to rely on Sylvia a great deal, or perhaps not. I don’t recommend you twiddle your thumbs, of course. So, I would say this: learn something here, or perhaps decide something here, or try to leave.”

    Like

  18. “Seems that the main thing to interact with here are our private little worlds. Maybe we should start going through them, one by one and trying to figure them out one by one, like riddles…“Riddles. Maybe there’s something we need to do in each world or something, a problem to solve. A way to prove ourselves.”

    Like

  19. ok, Alonius. this manifestation of him was an afterimage of what the real Alonius intended. it knew everything that you guys knew, and would get an upload of information every time you slept. the point behind this whole realm was to foster Seekings and experimenting with concepts around your magic, Resonance, paradigms, etc. for the most part, i wouldn’t say it was that successful, but it was often humorous or disturbing, which i guess is almost as good. originally, Alonius was going to use it as a teaching tool for gaining Arete, and it would have something of that purpose even though Alonius was destroyed while still building the rotes and effects involved.the game didn’t develop at all the way i had planned in my head, but i realized that early and adjusted for it over time. this part is one that would have been exponentially stronger if you were all Hermetics, but that idea occurred to me three or four sessions in, at which point it was way too late.

    Like

Leave a Reply

