I Got Served

(Addendum: add to the list of books you need to read – A General Theory of Love)

I’ve been tagged by a meme! Get if off me!!

For Aric, this meme was a chance to demonstrate all the theology reading he’s doing. For me, it will demonstrate how shallow I am in my own reading practices. Also, how I am a loser and a geek as well. If any of these books look intelligent, its because they’re for a class and I have to read them.

Current reading list:
After Virtue by Alastair MacIntyre
Lillith’s Brood (Xenogenesis) by Octavia Butler
Changeling: The Lost by White Wolf Games
The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume One edited by Jonathan Strahan
World Mythology edited by Donna Rosenberg
Why I Am Not A Christian (and other essays on religion and related subjects) by Bertrand Russell
How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy by Orson Scott Card
Evil in Modern Thought: An Alternate History of Philosophy by Susan Neiman
The Sandman Graphic Novels by Neil Gaiman
The Artesia Graphic Novels by Mark S. Smylie
National Geographic Magazine as they arrive
A lot of books about Godly Play

Total number of books in my library:
Before moving to California, I gave away over 500 books so I wouldn’t have to carry them again. And then I entered grad school, which involves lots of books, and my wife and I spend too much money at Half-Price Books and Borders (now that I have an employee discount especially) so, I dunno…six overflowing bookshelves, a few boxes, and a a few piles.

Last book read:
Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman

Last book bought:
Some romance novels for my wife
For me? Changeling: The Lost, mentioned above

An aside:
I should get out more. The problem is that I usually don’t want to.

Five meaningful books I’ve read in the last 6 months:
The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien
Blessing the Boats: New and Selected Poems 1988-2000 by Lucille Clifton
The Complete Poems of Langston Hughes
Women and Human Development: The Capabilities Approach by Martha Nussbaum
Love Does No Harm: Sexual Ethics for the Rest of Us by Marie Fortune

Five books you should read:
The Wisdom of Insecurity by Alan Watts
Love Does No Harm: Sexual Ethics for the Rest of Us by Marie Fortune
The Dhammapada
The Dao De Qing (Tao Te Ching)
Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality by Donald Miller

And a sixth wild-card book:
A Testament of Hope: The Essential Writings of Martin Luther King Jr.

Five people I tag:
Er…not much of a tagger I’m afraid.

3 thoughts on “I Got Served

  1. Fascinating statistics about romance novel readership. Did you notice that the readers want the female heroines to be smart 1st and beautiful 3rd. Whereas they want the male hero to be handsome 1st and intelligent 3rd? Absolutely hilarious, since men are normally stereotyped as preferring pretty but dumb women. It seem that women also like their mates to be pretty but dumb.

    Like

  2. Heh. I’d say that there’s probably some attraction that Hot and Dumb has for anyone. It makes them easier to objectify, for one thing, and you also might get less unwanted attachment. Also, horny and intellectually curious live in pretty different parts of the brain…

    Like

Leave a Reply

