"Endurance"

http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/7/15/1269375/Doug%20Hagler%2011-18-07.mp3

I hate this, but I’m going to make myself do it. I sound like a doofus and say at least one thing that is completely untrue – about the ropes and the high priest in the second Temple. I don’t know why I said that, I was just grasping for an example and came up with one that was absurd and that on some level I already knew was bogus. So maybe I can look at this like a spiritual discipline or something – putting my foolishness on display. Ugh. Here you go.

Luke 21:5-19

3 thoughts on “"Endurance"

  1. Some background: I came into the sanctuary with a big sign on posterboard saying THE END IS NEAR in huge black letters that I’d gotten the kids to gleefully help me decorate with frightening images of the end times. (They *really* got into it – I’ll have to remember that)Then, at the point where I say something like “none of this matters” and the sermon takes a turn, I tore up the sign I’d been holding up to that point and tossed the pieces away. It got the effect I was going for, from the looks on their faces.Does everyone hate recordings of themselves? I sure do.

    Like

  2. For some reason, I can’t get the entire sermon to download. I’m not sure if the problem is on my end. It downloads quickly, then stops about 3/5 the way through.I’ve not had a chance to listen to the whole thing (everyone seems to want a piece of me today), but I’m impressed by what I’ve heard.You may hate listening to your recorded voice, but I find you are easy to listen to. Good diction (not overdone), good tone, good pacing, niiiiccce use of words and word images. And all of that aids in transmitting the message.Thank you for preaching the Word (or at least 3/5 of it!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

