Nostalgia

Yesterday I got a strange package from my mom – this happens sometimes, especially around my birthday, which happened recently. Inside, amongst strange thrift-store clothing and life-savers and a Transformers coloring book, was my old copy of Dragonlance Adventures for AD&D. Man, I used this book a lot with my friends Jordan and Nate back in middle school.

Its a classic of AD&D game design, with lots of details including fully statted-out deities. If you’re eleven and playing D&D, what’s more fun than finding some way to go to the realm of the gods and try to lay some smackdown on them? If you’ve already accepted things like the saving-throw tables and THAC0 as reasonable, you’re halfway there already.

I remember devouring those books set in the Dragonlance world of Krynn, the main trilogy, the other main trilogy, the prequels, and the prequels to the prequels, and all of the other various and sundry books that they put out for kids like me to buy and read with our meager finances.

I think there’s definitely a developmental aspect to gaming, especially for those of us who played for a decade before most people had heard of an indie game or a story game as such. An adolescent doesn’t want to play in the same kind of game that an adult does, for the most part. At least, that was the case with me.

What kinds of things did you do in games, and what kinds of games did you play, when you first started out?

2 thoughts on “Nostalgia

  1. I must have fought goblins for 3 levels in my first D&D game ever!

    It was ran by 2 charitable – an socially adept! – college student at the local public library branch.

    Good times.

    Like

  2. Definitely true. I remember believing that everything, absolutely everything, ought to have stats and it ought to be objectively possible (if difficult) for player character's to get to a high enough level to kill it. In fact, that was the goal of the game. Get the highest stats you could to kill the biggest thing you could find.

    Like

Leave a Reply

