Beta Playtest Before Alpha – Madness!

This is going to be really brief.

Friends of mine graciously ran a beta playtest (that is, a playtest at which I was not present) for new years. I got pages of responses back from them that will be extremely helpful. Its incredibly nerve-wracking to talk about how people are critiquing something I’ve been working on mostly in a vacuum for months now. Brief overview: character creation got rave reviews, and most of the rest of it was broken to some degree. But that’s to be expected.

I also recently got to run a playtest at the local game store. This tested character creation and the basic dice-system, and also gave me a chance to test a system for players to create the setting together, as well as the situation for the game in particular, to varying degrees of detail. This is going to be added to the base system, before the character creation and system chapters, because I think it was very cool. And you can ignore it if you have a Director who wants to put a lot of time into the game. Brief overview: its nerve-wracking to playtest your own game, but I really loved it. I’m still worried about having far less time and far fewer playtests than even other small-scale games, but I’m also confident that I can pull it off. If I wasn’t, I wouldn’t be able to bring myself to work at all.

In other news, I might be delving back into Horror! soon. There’s some interest, perhaps. I hope. More on that as things develop.

Leave a Reply

