RIP Gary Gygax

If roleplaying games don’t interest you, you can go ahead and skip this one.

Gary Gygax, co-creator of Dungeons and Dragons, died yesterday morning of heart failure at his home. There has already been an outpouring of grief in the gaming community – I don’t blame you for not noticing if you aren’t already part of it.

His passing has affected me, though I never met him in person. Years ago, an 11 year old me picked up Mythus: Dangerous Journeys, a game that Gary Gygax wrote after he created Dungeons and Dragons, which at the time was still going strong and growing the hobby. It was the first roleplaying game I ever played, with my friends Mike, Nate and Jordan, at sleepovers and on camping trips, and I haven’t looked back since.

I only mention this here because its on my mind, and because I have found an odd kindred spirit in someone else who is in ministry and also loves gaming. I found a series on the blog Wry Juxtaposition called DMing the Bible. It is a series of readings from the Bible interpreted from the point of a minister who is also a DM. (If this terminology is foreign to you, don’t worry, you can just skip this whole thing). Anyway, for those of you who read this blog and might be interested, now you have a new link to check out.

Leave a Reply

