Weaponized Theology

I’m getting tired of weaponized theology.  I define weaponized theology as theology that is done with the following preconceptions:

1. Zero-sum interaction: either you will win or I will win
2. Absolute hubris: there is no chance that I am wrong and you are right
3. Ends justifying means: I can say all kinds of cruel things to you and about you because what is at stake is so important
4. Fatalism: this is the only way theology can be done
It is incredibly demoralizing to read, try to react to, and to get dragged into using myself.
It has nothing to do with what I think theology is, how I think we should spend our time, and what I think will move us in a desirable direction.
It is endless and useless, leading to no reconciliation, no solutions, no community, no mutuality, no peace.
It is everywhere and constantly reinforced.
The ugliest thing is when I realize I am engaging in it myself.  That’s probably the worst feeling.  Its hard not to buy into, just like any kind of violence is hard not to buy into.  I’m still way too easily provoked by people who have nothing better to do than to spew venom at other people.
It makes me one of those people.
So, I’ll be thinking about how to blog while not demoralizing myself, in the common and in the etymological sense.

4 thoughts on “Weaponized Theology

  1. Perhaps Doug, we should all live by Philippians 2:1-4 instead of the Ten Commandments.Phil 2:1-42:1 If you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any fellowship with the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion, 2 then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and purpose. 3 Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. 4 Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others. NIVI’m going to stick this on my computer screen and try to practice it.

    Like

  2. What you are describing is not theology, but the protocol of flame wars. What’s missing from it, however, is the absolutely necessary next point after your list:1. Zero-sum interaction2. Absolute hubris3. Ends justifying means4. Fatalism5. A RECOGNITION THAT THE WHOLE THING IS HILARIOUSLY RIDICULOUS ANYWAYS, AND THAT WE’RE ONLY DOING IT FOR THE LULZ6. ???7. Profit!Those who employ weaponized words without having the ability to stand far enough outside their selves to see the absurdity and the humour of the whole affair are doomed to be milked as lolcows forever. ;P

    Like

Leave a Reply

