10 Most-Played (Digital) Games

Following up this previous post, here are my most-played digital games as far as I can tell. I didn’t have a console of any kind until recently, so most of these are computer games. I’ve also grouped some games together into sets of related games. These are in order of most played to least played.

1. World of Warcraft

This one is a no-brainer. I play this game like it’s my third job. I have characters on five different servers as I create more and more to play with friends scattered all over the place. My main characters are mostly on Earthen Ring server in the Gamescape Northerners guild, and my highest character is Silisethleen, a restoration Druid turned toward balance for a while.

2. Everquest

Before World of Warcraft, there was Evercrack. Evercrack is the definition of insanity, because despite the things about that game which were objetively not at all fun, I kept playing and playing, night and day.

3. Quest for Glory I, II, III, IV and V

The Quest for Glory series is one of the best game series ever in my opinion, back when Sierra was putting out loads of quality, fun games. They were well-written (ok, for games) and funny and consistently interesting.

4. Diablo I and II

Before I got caught up in Evercrack, it was Diablo runs almost every weekend in college. I would sit next to my roommate, both of us on our computers playing Diablo II with the Expansion.

5. Elder Scrolls: Arena, Daggerfall, Morrowind, Oblivion

The Elder Scrolls series might be the most award-winning computer game series ever. I think ever single one of their games won multiple awards in the industry. I think that the game-world in Daggerfall was the size of Pangaea, and if you really wanted to, you could walk across it in character.

6. Civilization I, II, III and IV

Civ is awesome. I dare anyone to disagree. These games are always very well-designed and horrifically addictive.

7. Champions of Krynn, Death Knights of Krynn, Dark Queen of Krynn

Long ago, in the age of VGA graphics, there came a trinity of computer games based on Advanced Dungeons and Dragons and the Krynn setting. Before I could get my hands on D&D books, I used the game rulebooks as references for running D&D for my friends – they were detailed enough to basically replace the Player’s Handbook – if you’re 11 years old at least.

8. Master of Magic

I just got caught up in this game. It was an empire-building game set in a fantasy world that was mostly stock races with a few additions like insect-riders and turtle-riding lizardfolk. It was a fun, well-designed game with some interesting nuance. I’ve played it recently on an emulator, and it was actually still pretty fun, even in a world with games like Civilization IV.

9. Red Baron

A World War I flight simulator that led me to wear out my first joystick (this was before puberty, so not that joystick). You would fly missions throughout the first World War, fighting to become a flying ace. I never had an experience where the Red Baron himself didn’t hand me my ass.

10. Test Drive

I’m talking the original Test Drive. This game really reinforced my obsession with sportscars that continues to this day in much-attenuated form. I remember that the Corvette was crap to steer, and the Lotus was my favorite, since I found that cornering quickly was a key to victory on the more difficult tracks.

2 thoughts on “10 Most-Played (Digital) Games

Leave a Reply

