R.I.P. Dave Arneson 1947-2009

Dave Arneson, co-creator of D&D died last night. Now both of the luminaries who invented my favorite hobby have passed on. Arneson probably won’t get as much hoopla in death as Gygax did, just as it was in life. He was forever the less famous of the two. The Garfunkle to Gygax’ Simon. But Bridge Over Troubled Water wouldn’t be nearly as beautiful without Garfunkle’s warbly vocal, and D&D wouldn’t be what it is without Arneson’s contribution. Indeed, I find it incredibly poignant that my fundamentally social hobby was born out of a friendship – the only way it could have been. D&D, and roleplaying in general, will always grow and improve only in the context of a gathering of friends.

Rest in Peace Dave.

One thought on “R.I.P. Dave Arneson 1947-2009

  1. I think that Gygax's death sort of prepared me for this one, maybe. It seems to have less impact, even though I'm very aware of how much of a contribute Arneson made to D&D. Garfunkel indeed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

