On Sunday It Begins

Sunday is the beginning of November which, as everyone knows is National Novel Writing Month. This year I don’t plan on writing a novel because I have too much other work to do, but I am going to try to set a NaNoWriMo pace, which is about 1,667 words a day for 30 days.

The first project I have before me is to finish the playtest document and rough draft for Horror!. I’ve made some progress already, but it isn’t ready to be sent out to playtesters yet.
The second project I have in front of me is working on a full draft and playtest document for Heroes of Karia. I’ve run 3 playtests of Karia so far and it is going well, but I need to have something that is more put-together to send out.
The third project is in case I finish the first two (which is plausible with that kind of writing pace – game books take more work but contain fewer words than comparable novels). Right now I’m calling this project Succubus: A Love Story. The idea I have is for a genre-buster that is about 2/3 sexy high school love story and 1/3 existential horror. I think I can get it out in a short story form, and the idea has been with me for a while. I can tell it’s the kind of thing I need to use NaNoWriMo to get out of my system (and find out if it is worth putting real work into aside from a rough draft.
Anyone else working on something for NaNoWriMo?

Leave a Reply

