Considering Adventure Paths

I’m considering doing something I’ve never done before – running a pre-made Campaign module. I’ve sampled from commercial adventures selectively, and even used promotional materials when demoing a game for customers in a store, but never actually run a complete adventure (let alone entire campaign) that someone else wrote.

The reason for this is simple: I like my ideas better than other people’s ideas. I’ve always enjoyed the hours in between each play session plotting what I will throw at my players and how to develop the story. Sacrificing that control for what I usually think are inferior ideas from “the professionals” was never appealing. Until Pathfinder.

To be clear, I’d still probably have the most fun running an original campaign in a system other than a D20 clone. However, I haven’t been able to do any roleplaying AT ALL in nearly 18months primarily because I don’t have the time to put that work in as a GM. Furthermore, if I can get a group assembled I’ll be starting with players who have little experience and would feel most comfortable in a class D&D style of game. Put these together and it makes a pre-made module more appealing.

What pushes it over the top, though, is the insanely high quality of Paizo’s Pathfinder Adventure Paths. One of my primary gripes about pre-made adventures in the past is that they were usually cookie-cutter dungeon crawls. Paizo has outdone itself with the depth and story, character and originality of these adventure paths. It is the first time I can ever recall flipping through an adventure and thinking “damn, I wish I’d come up with that idea!”

I’m still working on assembling the players, but I have a strong feeling that when I have got a group we will pick up one of the Adventure Paths and give it a whirl. My current leaning is Curse of the Crimson Throne, but we’ll see what the group wants. I will definitely be reviewing the modules here as I run them.

One thought on “Considering Adventure Paths

  1. Pam and I have been invited to a twice monthly Pathfinder game in Cleveland, and I'm looking forward to it. With a DM I've never met before, one thing it does is guarantee a baseline good game. I also prefer my own ideas to…pretty much all other ideas, but joining a new group I like my changes if we're running an adventure path.

    Like

Leave a Reply

