Game Design Snapshot: Epic


African masks image taken from this site.

This is a bitch of a stitched-together, zombie project.  It started in 2003 as a collaboration and it wasn’t all that long before it become a solo project.

Since then, Epic has become a bucket of things that I want to do that don’t currently have another place, as well as some old skeletons of previous designs and worldbuilding.  It is me wanting to create another RPG setting where Africa is not depicted via the fever-dreams of submerged racism.  (In the Parsec setting, Africa is intentionally depicted in a way that I have never seen in any other RPG setting – positively and optimistically).  It is also me caught up in the idea of a Bronze Age fantasy setting that is not Rome.

It is, as always, me wanting to create magic systems that are not 1. superhero powers or 2. incoherent; something actually rooted in beliefs and philosophies and theologies and myths rather than spell points and damage dice.

I also like the idea of a post-apocalyptic fantasy setting set on Earth in the future.  I know this is not original, but I read things like The World Without Us and I actually get excited about incorporating that into worldbuilding.

So, that’s all in there.

On top of that, I’ve since brainstormed and sketched out three other settings, which form a timeline stretching from a darker near-future Earth through far-future metaphysical horror all the way to a pseudo-Rennaissance New Weird ‘reboot’ of global human civilization.

Right now, my thinking is mostly going toward continuing to work on fiction in this setting/these settings.  I think that the way to approach all of this is to write my way into it.  It is not primarily a game, hasn’t primarily been a game for some time now.  What it is, however, is a world that has held my imagination, to some degree, for the past eight years.  That should tell me something.

Leave a Reply

