The One Ring Update

Cubicle 7 continues to release information about their upcoming game The One Ring: Adventures Over the Edge of the Wild.

Here’s a link to what a friend just point out: some information on the mechanics of the game and a preview of the character sheet.

From what they’ve posted so far, it seems like they’ve taken some cues from other ‘standard’ fantasy rpgs with their roots in wargaming (you know the ones), a bit of the group mechanics found in Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay (a game I find very impressive), and some conditions mojo from games like Mouse Guard.  I’m pretty sure the d12 is just a gimmick, which is fine with me – I’m not anti-gimmick.  If there was a custom nine-sided die for an LotR game, that would obviously be better, but you can’t have everything.

So far, it looks like a game I would run.  At this glance, it might be the best LotR game to date, at least by my standards.  Definitely worth checking out, and almost certainly something I’ll end up buying.  Whether it means I drop my Servants of the Secret Fire project remains to be seen.

Leave a Reply

