Experimenting

33,365

Because it has been so long since I have attempted any kind of long-form fiction, everything I am doing is like an experiment. How will present-tense turn out? Am I showing and not telling too much, so that it won’t make sense what is going on under the surface? Do I jump from point of view to point of view too often? Was that a point of view error?

It’s a little daunting, but also freeing. I’m just stupid enough to not know many of the mistakes I am surely making.

Fortunately, I am still very invested in what is going on. Tonight I realized that the characters could have a full-on argument, and reveal their cross purposes, and ultimately make a bad decision about what to do next. I was excited about them getting angry at each other and making the wrong choice. So that’s a good sign, I suppose.

There’s also this odd sense that, since I have sketched out the whole story, I know that one of them is going to die, and another is going to be horribly injured. As a result, I want those two to be great characters – really good people, so that when horrible things happen to them, it hurts. Also maybe a good sign – of course, no idea whether I can pull any of this off in any meaningful way.

Probably not – that’s why this is basically a practice novel.

Leave a Reply

