5E D&D Dragonlance: Reorx’s Forge!

reorx

I recently got a comment from another D&D player asking how I would run Reorx in the Dragonlance setting. As far as 5E is concerned, Reorx is a neutral deity with the Knowledge domain – the problem is that Knowledge isn’t a good fit for an artisan deity. There isn’t a better fit among the PHB’s few domans, so I got to thinking about how I would hack Knowledge to represent something more like Artifice, Craft or Creation. Here are my thoughts so far.

Knowledge (Artifice) Domain

Knowledge Domain Spells

1st command, identify, shield of faith

3rd augury, suggestion find traps, knock

5th meld into stone, nondetection, speak with dead

7th arcane eye, confusion fabricate, Mordenkainen’s (Reorx’s) private sanctum

9th legend lore, scrying wall of stone

Blessing of Knowledge (Artifice)

At 1st level, you are proficient with two additional tools in addition to two of the following skills: Arcana, History, Nature or Religion. Your proficiency bonus is doubled for any ability check using the two selected tools.

Channel Divinity

Knowledge of the Ages (unchanged)

Channel Divinity: Read Thoughts Locate Object

At 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity ability to locate an object, as per the Locate Object spell. In addition, after you have found the object, for 10 minutes per cleric level, you are proficient with it.

Potent Spellcasting (unchanged)

Visions of the Past (unchanged)

Or, alternately,

Mansion of the Gods

At 17th level, after 10 minutes of prayer and supplication, you are able to conjure a vast dwelling like one you would find in your deity’s home plane. This ability is essentially Mordenkainen’s Magnificent Mansion.

11 thoughts on “5E D&D Dragonlance: Reorx’s Forge!

  1. I liked some points presented by you, but here Reorx is more focused on Artíice than the Creator.

    I liked very much the Blessing of Knowledge (in my group we used a similar idea , except that ther are proficient with only 1 Skill and 1 tool and without the double bonus) .

    The Find Objects is cool, but I also think it might be something different. You may make a tools test without tools (type, shape with your bare hands), but this is only one kick someone wanting to give an idea ( which it will you create something cool!) .

    The only thing I really would change on your list would be the selection of spells (Heat metal is very cool and highly themed !).

    Like

  2. I agree about Heat Metal – there are other spells that would fit in those slots, and honestly I’m not always sure about the reasoning behind the spells they do choose for the domains as written. As a DM, I would be perfectly fine with player suggestions for spells of a similar level to replace any of those listed.

    For Blessing of Knowledge, they double the skill bonus for two of the skill proficiencies you choose, so I just ported those over to the tools.

    Overall, though, this kind of thing just makes me want to play more 5th Edition. I was this excited about 3rd edition when it came out (that’s the edition that got me back int playing D&D) but I am really liking 5th.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As you would the Smith and Scion races?

    Dragonlance was the first scene where I played and now my gnome (the same that is Reorx cleric) went back in time and became a Scion.

    In an old book on the Order of the test said that only creatures touched by the chaos could actually influence the past in some way. I’m a Wizard of Chaos (which had, for reasons beyond the story, catching cleric levels).

    In our campaign I won something called Chaos points where I can modify two spells per day. I do not choose how it will behave. I roll 1d4 and depending on the result it acts in a different way.

    If I scroll in 1 d4 something bad happens to me and allies (usually the magic turns against us) if I Roll 2 somewhat weaker or stronger happens. If I roll 3 the magic happens as in the book. And if I roll 4 is only joy.

    Usually I take a lot of 1, but it is precisely the chance of failure that makes me excited.

    I always saw magic as something chaotic, and the wizard takes this chaos, although with few random things.

    Here I have the following powers:
    Enemies have a disadvantage in the endurance test of my illusions.
    These points of Chaos.
    Standard features of the Gnomes.

    Like

    • I’m actually much more familiar with the War of the Lance time period than the Chaos War time period, which it sounds like you are in. In my current game, my wife is also playing a Wild Magic Sorcerer, but we’re finding that the d100 table doesn’t come into play enough – it would normally only come into play when she rolls a 1 on a d20 when she casts a spell. So instead, since I think the table is interesting, I’m letting her roll on it whenever she wants to. But I’m sorry I’m not familiar with the Smith and Scion…

      Like

      • Very cool that his wife play with you ! My fiancée accepted only play with another friend dming (and he did not master D&D , it has great desire to play Star Wars , but she’s afraid to play).

        About Wild Magic Surge, it can make use of the Tides of Chaos to use the table more often. Incidentally, if this table seem simple to you when it use powerful spells , you can try using that table Wild Magic AD&D .

        I think that these effects should not be dependent on you cast a spell . I imagine the Sorcerer as someone who , when sneezing , transforms a random person in a penguin.

        I never played the War of the Lance , it has always been at the 5th era. This my gnome back in time to the moment of the Greygem Gargath and was one of the lucky (I had to roll a d100) .

        I’m starting to DMing in Dragonlance ( always played ) and have not decided on what period the story is set . Any suggestions?

        Like

        • As always it depends on what you’d like to feature about the setting. The first War of the Lance, with Huma, and the second one with your players as versions of the Innfellows play on very similar tropes and storylines – the desperate struggle against overwhelming evil. For the second War of the Lance, the only real chance you’d need to make to 5E is that clerics, druids and paladins (and maybe bards?) would not be present, and sorcerers and warlocks would be renegades from the point of view of the Towers of High Sorcery. And a PC could easily be the first new cleric, druid or paladin, heralding the return of the gods.

          Another interesting possibility would be to play a game in the time period leading up to the Cataclysm – the PCs could be working for the Kingpriest, and their own decisive victories over evil are part of what pushes the Kingpriest to make his demand of the gods, bringing about the Cataclysm. This would highlight the idea in Krynn that balance is necessary, and the last act of the campaign could be trying to restore order to the places the PCs care about.

          For the Chaos War, the change would be (as I recall) that arcane magic is no longer present, so you’d have no wizards (and, again, maybe bards?) and maybe no warlocks, and sorcerers take center stage, with lots of wild magic options.

          Liked by 1 person

          • I liked the idea of ​​playing at the time the Cataclysm, their act to Kingpriest . I always played several different campaigns in the same era (the beginning of the return of the Gods, after the War of Souls. I think it’s still the Fifth Age).

            I’ll put them in the period of the first Cataclysm, thanks for the idea!

            Like

Leave a Reply

